Thursday, August 11, 2005

quips

So the week started out crappy, but that was mainly due to my negative outlook on things in general, but now I have to admit it's getting better [better], a little better all the time [it can't get no worse].

So now it's Thursday, and I just remembered that I had made an appointment to give blood today. I don't know why I did this, because the last time I did it, I didn't really feel well afterwards. You see, I used to not weigh enough to even donate blood. But then I started drinking beer, and suddenly I surpassed the 115-lb. minimim! So the first time I donated blood was last year in Lowell, and they took a shitload of blood out of me and didn't give me anything back. It really hurt (eww, I'm getting queasy), I got really woozy, and they didn't even have good snacks! But it's for the best. Sick people need blood. And vampires. Here's Pat's take on blood donation. And another take.

Last night Jay and I went out with our old Starbucks commrades. The kids we used to work with were like sophomores and juniors in high school at the time, and now they're all graduated from college and stuff. Weird! But it was good to see everyone -- a little weird, but good nonetheless. We went to the Tin Alley in F'ham. I don't have much to say about that.

3 comments:

Patrick said...

You know what would kick ass? If they gave you free starbucks after you donated blood. I'd get a large iced caramel machiato (sp?). That'd get your blood sugar back up... but all the caffine and sugar might kill you, so maybe they don't do that for a reason.

Erin said...

Pat, that's brilliant! Them caramel macchiatos (I hate Italian) are chock-full of syrupy sweetness, with so much sugar you could probably disintegrate a human tooth in it overnight. I see nothing wrong with three, maybe four shots of espresso when your body's lost one pint of blood...

dennis said...

I love coffee. I hate needles.